Reviews

 

Guest Lisa L. (Saint Paul, Minnesota)
Date of stay 08/30/13
Review Submitted 09/07/13

We had a great stay. The place is huge. There were 5 of us and there would have been plenty of room for more. Bill is very customer-oriented, gave advice on things to do and places to eat, and even called to make sure everything was ok the first day. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to get away and stay in a place that feels like someone's cabin, not just a generic rental.

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, pet owners, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.

Owner response: Thats awesome Lisa. Thank you for the kind words. Come back and visit us again.
 

Guest Mark W.
Date of stay 07/03/13
Review Submitted 07/10/13

Took an extended 4th of July weekend with our family and headed up to the top of Wisconsin and the mouth of the Brule River where it empties into Lake Superior. Views from the cabin are phenomenal. Cabin is a neatly appointed and well provisioned northern Wisconsin 'man cave' :-). Several displays of fishing/hunting trophies adorn the walls. The owners were very helpful in answering any questions we had regarding the property and things to do. The boys enjoyed the fishing and the canoeing on the Brule River. The beach on Lake Superior seemed to be a popular spot for vacationers. Lots of fun splashing around with the kids and our black lab. Many bike trails nearby and Bayfield/Madeline Island is less than 1 hour away. Recommend the fish fry at Kro Bar in Iron River! Had a great time and would recommend to friends that can appreciate the great Northern Wisconsin outdoors.

Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.

Owner response: Mark and company. Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your feed back was very helpful. Thanks Again. Bill & Jeanneane
 

Guest Kelly (Anoka, MN)
Date of stay 09/01/12
Review Submitted 06/10/13

I've stayed here twice and both weekends were filled with a ton of great memories with friends! We went canoeing, chartered a fishing boat, played bags, took walks/runs and had many campfires. Two of my favorite memories were a boat trip to Tom's Burned Down Café at Madeline Island and canoeing on the Brule River. I would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking for either rest & relaxation or a fun-filled adventure!

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, tourists without a car.
 

Guest KP (Blaine)
Date of stay 11/18/12
Review Submitted 05/26/13

Perfect vacation area to enjoy nature, activities and beautiful sunsets. Great destination for family trips or weekend get-a-ways for hunting or fishing. Location is great for outdoor enthuiest! Looking forward to a return trip this year!

Recommended for: Age 55+, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sightseeing.
 

Guest Jennifer (Blaine, MN)
Date of stay 06/24/12
Review Submitted 05/25/13

We stayed here for my aunts wedding. Very relaxing, cozy cabin. Bring a book or 2 to cuddle up to. Nice deck overlooking beautiful forest , stream and lake. Good side kitchen and bedrooms to host a group, extended family. Our dog loved exploring. We walked down to the sandy beach below, great views.

Recommended for: Pet owners, adventure seekers.
 

Guest Steve (Ham Lake, MN)
Date of stay 03/22/13
Review Submitted 05/24/13

We have stayed at this property numerous times now and each time is a new adventure. We typically go for the world class steelhead fishing on the Brule but there is so many more activities just outside the door. If you haven’t canoed the Brule you really should. The river is beautiful and offers water for all skill levels - from experienced to beginner. You can walk to the mouth of the Brule and check out the Lake Superior shoreline. Walk the beach in search of driftwood and agates. In an hour long walk my girlfriend found enough shiny rock to fill my pocket (according to her they are agates?). You can take a day trip by heading east on Highway 13 to Bayfield and stop at the quaint towns of Port Wing and Cornucopia along the way. You will get a glimpse of what life was like in this rugged country 100 years ago. Did I mention the fishing? Lake run steelhead, salmon and brown trout make their appearance in spring and fall. The upper Brule has a good population of brown trout all season long. The diversity of fishing opportunities on the Brule is amazing. From standing on an ice shelf to fight a monster 30” spring steelhead on the lower Brule to landing a resident brown trout with a dry fly on the upper - it doesn’t get any better. The views from the house are spectacular. Look out over Lake Superior and you may see a “Laker” ship headed for the Twin Ports. Look the other direction for a terrific view of the Brule River. The house has plenty of bedrooms for a group. The full size kitchen comes in handy and is equipped to cook for a group. Fire up the sauna after a day of fishing or canoeing and then enjoy the views from the deck. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a true Wisconsin north-woods

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with young children, adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway.